Wake-boarding: something new for the list

wakeboard-shot-001

Today I finally ticked wake-boarding off of my list of things to do, though to actually have a list would be impossible as it would have to have everything on it. So I’m happy to finally add it to the list of things I have done.

I’ve been wanting to go wake-boarding for ages now. That and surfing, guess I was meant to start wake-boarding first as after two holidays which I took for the sole intention of surfing…I still haven’t been surfing.

It turns out that wake-boarding is pretty easy.Or perhaps, as I was told by the instructor,…I’m a natural.

I had my doubts in the beginning as I wondered whether I would make it up first time or fall flat on my face like an idiot. It turned out to be neither and both in the end; I made it up fine, but then things got a little wobbly. I think the instructor slowed to stop from pulling me off balance but i just kept thinking “go, go, GOOO!!”…..too late.. SPLASH, I was down. “Damn” I thouht to myself “is it going to be like this the whole time?”

I turned, grabbed the rope and gave the instructor a thumbs up to let him know I was good to go. The cable pulled dutifully and I was up, I was up and gliding across the water as  if I had done it a dozen times before.  The end of the cable was coming up and that meant the turn. Now this is a straight cable which means that it stops for a second and then goes back the same way, operated obviously by the instructor. Now to me it was obvious that you need to carve out wide to keep the tension in the line to allow you to turn and keep going without sinking like the titanic.

Watching the people that preceded me, however, made me doubt how easy it was as I watched them sink time and again. I guess I should remember…I am not most people! Coming up to the end of the cable I carved out, hoping that the instructor was on the same wavelength as me and was ready to keep the rope pulling cos I was going for the turn. Well he was, he did…. and I nailed it. It was kind of underwhelming yet at the same time pretty damn awesome, I hadn’t expected to nail it on the first turn. “That was really good” the instructor yelled as I successfully did a second turn back near the starting point.

Feeling more comfortable with the board and the pull of the cable I wanted more and started carving out on the straight. Cutting across on the toe edge a jerk of the cable caught me off balance, a little over enthusiastic correction and….whack…face plant. It felt so good!!

Learning a new skill should never be easy, it should hurt from time to time. It would just be boring otherwise.

” Do you want to try a jump start” the instructor asked as I got ready for the second run. “Yeah sure” I said, whilst I was thinking…” Hell yeah!”  Okay, I know a jump start is nothing special in wake boarding..it’s actually completely normal, but as someone doing it for the first time I found it pretty cool. The fact that I nailed it first time made it even better.

All too soon the session was over and I found myself wishing that I had more time. Wake-boarding for the first time, however, takes a toll on your hands and after a few minutes your grip begins to suffer. I don’t think I would have lasted too much longer. At the end of the session I found myself thinking that I would definitely be back.

At around £26-£30 a session, it is not really a bank breaking activity but it does mean that it won’t be a very frequent one….especially on my salary, and trying to save money. Though I do believe that it is totally worth it for me. I would gladly take 15 minutes wake-boarding over a night out.

Sports invigorate me and after that session I felt alive and fulfilled, anticipating my return, anxious to do it again and push the limits until I get better….no matter how many times my faces bites water.

Go big or go home!

Published by

Wanderlust Travellers

A couple of wanderlust travellers on an adventure around the world together

Leave a Reply

