Look after your plastic

The plastic generation
We are living in a new generation. No one really carries cash around anymore, it’s too much of a liability according to some people. If you’ve got it, you’re going to spend it. I never really understood that, I see it differently. For myself, if I see the money disappear it makes me fully aware of the implications of what I am spending my money on… Asking myself the question “is it worth it?” Or ” do I really need it?” However if you buy something with a credit or debit card, you simply punch in four digits and that’s it, you don’t feel the loss and possibly go on to spend even more money. Anyway, that’s just my opinion. Do as you will, it’s your money to do with as you wish. And this is not the reason for this post. The reason for this post is as follows:

image

Card fraud
Wake up people!! Crime is always one step ahead of everything. Whatever you may have, wherever you may have it, I guarantee you that there is someone, somewhere that knows how to steal it.
Therefore with such common use of credit/debit cards these days, it is the most common way for people to steal your money and it is surprisingly easy for them to do so. All it takes is a little reader, a single swipe through which will copy all the details of your card allowing a duplicate to be made. The only thing left is for that person to see your pin number and they will be doing some shopping at your expense.

The shocker
The shocking thing is that people don’t seem to realise how easy it is. When I worked in a restaurant, I had people handing me their credit/debit cards freely…not a care in the world! Imagine I was a thief and cleaned them out, they would certainly think twice then!! It’s impossible to trace back, unless one was caught with the reader on their person.
A number of times I kindly handed back the card, explaining that I would return with the card machine to take their payment, explaining about how easily someone could steal their money that way and that they should be more careful. What did I get?? A look as though I had just said something preposterous!!
It’s truly shocking that people don’t realise how easy it is and how little they care!! Most people I have seen, don’t even care so much as to cover their pin numbers from my sight, of course I would look away but if I was out to steal their money, I had everything I needed.

The moral
Don’t wait until you get cleaned out before you learn your lesson, take the necessary precautions.  Never let your card out of your sight, any establishment should have wireless card machines. Always cover your pin number.
Protect your plastic!!

Published by

Wanderlust Travellers

A couple of wanderlust travellers on an adventure around the world together

Leave a Reply

