Journal writing: Beneficial or childish?

When i think about writing a journal, I imagine a young teenager writing  “Dear Diary….”

The truth is that, as an adult, i did start to write a journal of sorts – of course my entries did not start with Dear Diary. I am one of those people that “over think”  and find myself burdened with all the thoughts that swim around and around inside my head, slowly driving me to the brink of insanity.

After several days of waking up feeling as though I had just run a marathon, I realized that I had to do something. I had to get all those thoughts out of my head and try to organize and process them, and what better way to do that, then to write them all down. I wrote them down as i thought of them, not changing anything and not thinking about what i was writing down… after all it’s not meant to be read by anyone but myself. The sole purpose of writing them down was to clear my head and it worked, my mind was clearer and i wasn’t overloaded with thoughts and emotions.

Journaling it turns out is actually highly beneficial, not just to your mental well being, but your physical well being as well. Journaling dates back centuries and has been a pastime of many prominent and successful figures in history.

A great quote by famous playwright Oscar Wilde goes as follows: “I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read on the train.”

I won’t go over all the benefits of journal writing, though if someone requests it, i could write a separate article on it.

Next time you find yourself overwhelmed by your thoughts or emotions, write them down, start a journal of your own. Write everything down exactly as you feel it, unadulterated, unchanged, you will see how much better you feel.

And if you don’t believe me…look it up for yourself.

Published by

Wanderlust Travellers

A couple of wanderlust travellers on an adventure around the world together

Leave a Reply

